Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Dawnzera: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers
“A phase 1 study, Protocol No. ISIS 721744-CS1, was previously conducted in Canada to assess the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacodynamics of ISIS 721744 in healthy volunteers.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 142Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Dawnzera don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/week (platelet reductions at higher doses; ~29-fold margin); mouse NOAEL top dose; liver and kidney target organs (EMA assessment report, p. 31)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week SC cynomolgus monkey study (13-week interim) with 26-week treatment-free recovery
“The plasma TK profile of SC administration of donidalorsen was evaluated in a GLP-compliant 13-week interim/39-week repeat-dose toxicity study in Cynomolgus monkeys with a 26-week treatment-free recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 150Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13- and 26-week SC studies in CD-1 mice; 13-week interim/39-week SC study in cynomolgus monkeys with 26-week recovery
“plasma TK profile of SC administration of donidalorsen was evaluated in a GLP-compliant 13-week interim/39-week repeat-dose toxicity study in Cynomolgus monkeys with a 26-week treatment-free recovery period”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 150Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
CD-1 mouse only (combined fertility/EFD and pre-/postnatal studies); no rabbit study
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted in one species only, namely CD-1 mice”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Conducted in mice only: combined fertility/EFD and PPND studies (with surrogate group); NOAEL top dose; no rabbit EFD
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted in one species only, namely CD-1 mice”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in mouse completed and submitted with the marketing application
“This review evaluates the GLP-compliant reproductive and developmental toxicology studies with ISIS 721744 (i.e., combined fertility and developmental toxicity study in mice and PPND study in mice) to support the safety of ISIS 721744 for marketing approval.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 497Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Tg.rasH2 mouse (27-week, completed) and SD rat (2-year, ongoing)
“The carcinogenicity assessment for donidalorsen includes a completed 27-week study in Tg.rasH2 mice and a 2-year study in SD rats that is ongoing with the final report due in Q4 2025.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
27-week Tg.rasH2 mouse (completed); 2-year SD rat (ongoing)
“The carcinogenicity assessment for donidalorsen includes a completed 27-week study in Tg.rasH2 mice and a 2-year study in SD rats that is ongoing with the final report due in Q4 2025.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
27-week Tg.rasH2 mouse completed; 2-year SD rat ongoing at approval, final report due Q4 2025
“The carcinogenicity assessment for donidalorsen includes a completed 27-week study in Tg.rasH2 mice and a 2-year study in SD rats that is ongoing with the final report due in Q4 2025.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →