Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vitravene: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vitravene don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6 (FDA review, p. 24)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month study: 8 doses of 115 ug every other week
“No intact fomivirsen was observed in any of tissues (kidney, liver, ovary, and uterus) following 1, 3, or 8 doses of 10 uM (115 ug) fomivirsen administered every-other-week for three months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey multiple-dose intravitreal ocular toxicity and systemic exposure study, with prophylactic corticosteroid
“To evaluate the effects of ISIS 2922 on ocular tissues in cynomolgus monkeys that have received prophylactic corticosteroid treatment and to determine the systemic exposure (i.e. plasma, kidney, liver, and uterus concentrations) following multiple intravitreal injection.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 23Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted: no reproductive toxicology information provided
“No information was provided.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; no reproductive toxicology information provided
“No information was provided.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (waiver requested)
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted: waiver citing lack of meaningful systemic exposure
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor. The sponsor stated that "lack of meaningful systemic exposure, additional systemic toxicity studies are neither relevant nor useful for assessing the safety profile of this compound".”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: FDA accepted the carcinogenicity waiver (local treatment of CMV retinitis)
“fomivirsen is indicated for the local treatment of CMV retinitis in AIDS patients and the dosing schedule stated in the labeling?, the review division would accept the request from the sponsor for a waiver of carcinogenicity studies on fomivirsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →