Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Qfitlia: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Qfitlia don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat 26-wk NOAEL 1 mg/kg/wk females, 0.5 mg/kg/wk males (fatal clotting at 1); monkey 39-wk 0.5 mg/kg/wk tolerated; thrombosis, hepatic necrosis, injection-site findings (FDA integrated review, p. 153)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week cynomolgus monkey (SC, weekly) with 13-week recovery
“A 39-Week Subcutaneous Injection Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study in the Cynomolgus Monkey Followed by a 13-Week Recovery Period (AT3-NCD14-007)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 162Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP SC weekly: rat 26-week with FEED (13-wk recovery), monkey 39-week (13-wk recovery), 7-week rat and monkey studies, 26-week hemophilia A mouse
“A 26-Week Subcutaneous Injection Toxicity, Toxicokinetic, and Fertility and Early Embryonic Development (to Implantation) Study in the Rat Followed By a 13-Week Recovery Period”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 153Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (male fertility within 26-week study only); no EFD studies in rats or rabbits as hemophilia is X-linked
“Because hemophilia is primarily an X-linked disease, no embryo-fetal toxicity studies in rats and rabbits have been performed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 182Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Male fertility/early embryonic development in 26-week rat study (no effects); no female reproductive or EFD studies (hemophilia almost exclusively male)
“Fitusiran was not tested in reproduction studies in female animals because hemophilia A and B occur almost exclusively in males.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 90Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND study: no reproduction studies in female animals because hemophilia A and B occur almost exclusively in males
“Fitusiran was not tested in reproduction studies in female animals because hemophilia A and B occur almost exclusively in males.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 90Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Rat (2-year) and TgRasH2 mouse (26-week)
“The Sponsor submitted final reports for carcinogenicity studies of fitusiran 1. A 26-week study in TgRasH2 mouse study-at3-glp17-001.pdf, 2. A 2-year study in rats study-car0186.pdf.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 327Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year rat and 26-week TgRasH2 mouse
“The Sponsor submitted final reports for carcinogenicity studies of fitusiran 1. A 26-week study in TgRasH2 mouse study-at3-glp17-001.pdf, 2. A 2-year study in rats study-car0186.pdf.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 327Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
26-week TgRasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies completed; final reports submitted with the marketing application
“The Sponsor submitted final reports for carcinogenicity studies of fitusiran 1. A 26-week study in TgRasH2 mouse study-at3-glp17-001.pdf, 2. A 2-year study in rats study-car0186.pdf.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 327Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →