Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Redemplo: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Redemplo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat NOAEL 120 mg/kg Q4W (47x MRHD); monkey NOAEL 180 mg/kg (140x, top dose); liver, kidney, lymph node, injection-site changes (FDA integrated review, p. 247)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
37-week cynomolgus monkey (SC, monthly) with 4-week recovery (control and high dose)
“Monkey (cyno) 37w, 10 monthly doses +4w SC injection GLP SR-00804 Main: 7 M/F Recovery: 2 M/F (control and high dose)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
24-week rat and 37-week monkey SC Q4W repeat-dose toxicity studies
“Repeat-dose general toxicology studies with plozasiran were conducted with SC administration (consistent with the clinical route) Q4W in rats”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (FEED, EFD, PPND) and rabbit (EFD)
“Plozasiran was tested in a complete battery of nonclinical reproductive and developmental toxicity studies, including a fertility and early embryonic development (FEED) study in rats, embryo-fetal development (EFD) studies in rats and rabbits, and a pre/postnatal development (PPND) study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 103Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Conducted in rat: fertility (NOAEL 50 mg/kg), EFD (NOAEL 60 mg/kg), PPND (pup survival reduced at 24 mg/kg and above); no rabbit
“The NOAEL for male and female fertility was 50 mg/kg (19-fold the human dose, based on BSA).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 250Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in rat completed before the marketing application
“FEED and PPND were conducted in rats, EFD in rats and rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
6-month transgenic mouse and 2-year rat
“Carcinogenic potential of plozasiran was tested in a 6-month transgenic mouse and a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study, the latter of which was submitted in the second round of the procedure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mouse completed; 2-year rat study to follow postmarketing
“The carcinogenic potential of plozasiran was assessed in the completed 26-week transgenic mouse carcinogenicity study. The Agency agreed that a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study should be conducted postmarketing considering the unmet medical need associated with the FCS clinical indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 249Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
26-week rasH2 mouse completed; 2-year rat ongoing at approval, completion to be submitted postmarketing
“The 2-year rat carcinogenicity study is ongoing, and the Agency recommends that completion of this study should be submitted postmarketing (after approval) considering the unmet medical need associated with the FCS clinical indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 103Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →