Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Waylivra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Waylivra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey 39-week NOAEL 3 mg/kg (per EMA table); thrombocytopenia, kidney/liver basophilic granules, inflammatory cytokines, injection-site findings (EMA assessment report, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week cynomolgus monkey (SC); recovery duration not stated
“Volanesorsen plasma PK following SC administration in male and female monkeys were further studied in the 39-week toxicity study (study 304801-AS11).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP SC repeat-dose: monkey 13- and 39-week, rat 26-week, mouse 13- and 26-week studies; 2-year mouse and rat carcinogenicity
“Volanesorsen plasma PK following SC administration in male and female monkeys were further studied in the 39-week toxicity study (study 304801-AS11).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse (fertility/EFD and pre/postnatal, Segment I/II/III) and rabbit (EFD, Segment II)
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted in mice (Segment I/II/III), and rabbits (Segment II)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Conducted: mouse fertility/EFD (Seg I/II) and peri-postnatal, rabbit EFD (Seg II); no untoward effects attributed to apoC-III reduction
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted in mice (Segment I/II/III), and rabbits (Segment II)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in mouse (volanesorsen and murine apoC-III surrogate) completed before the marketing application
“An assessment of pre- and postnatal toxicity was performed using subcutaneous administration of volanesorsen or the murine-specific apoC-III inhibitor (ISIS 440670) on alternate days to pregnant female mice at doses up to 87.5 mg/kg/wk from Day 6 of gestation to Day 21 postpartum.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat (2-year)
“The carcinogenic potential of volanesorsen was assessed in 2-yr repeated dose studies in mice (Study No. 304801-AS15) and rats (Study No. 304801-AS16).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year mouse and rat
“The carcinogenic potential of volanesorsen was assessed in 2-yr repeated dose studies in mice (Study No. 304801-AS15) and rats (Study No. 304801-AS16).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year mouse and rat studies completed before the marketing application
“Two-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in mice and rats. Test article-related neoplastic findings were above the historical control ranges, and it is likely that the neoplasms are secondary to chronic inflammation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →