Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Hibsago: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Hibsago don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL not stated; 2-year mouse: hepatocellular carcinomas at ≥10 mg/kg; liver adenomas and hemangiosarcomas at 30 mg/kg (males)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Pivotal GLP studies
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse and rabbit (animal reproduction studies)
“In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental or reproductive effects were observed when bepirovirsen was administered subcutaneously to mice and rabbits at less than 1 (mouse) and approximately 3 (rabbits) times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD), based on body surface area (BSA) comparisons (see Data).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse and rabbit: no adverse developmental or reproductive effects at <1x (mouse) and ~3x (rabbit) MRHD, BSA
“In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental or reproductive effects were observed when bepirovirsen was administered subcutaneously to mice and rabbits at less than 1 (mouse) and approximately 3 (rabbits) times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD), based on body surface area (BSA) comparisons (see Data).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Pre- and postnatal development in mouse (GD 6 to LD 21) completed, described in the approved label
“No adverse effects on embryofetal development, parturition, or on the postnatal development of the offspring were observed following subcutaneous administration of bepirovirsen to pregnant mice during organogenesis and throughout pregnancy and lactation [Gestation day (GD) 0 to 15 and from GD 6 to lactation day (LD) 21], at 0.7 times the MRHD based on BSA comparison.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse (2-year, subcutaneous)
“In a 2-year carcinogenicity study in mice, bepirovirsen sodium was administered by subcutaneous injection weekly at doses of 3, 10, and 30 mg/kg (approximately 0.05, 0.2, and 0.5 times the RHD, respectively, based on BSA comparison).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year mouse, weekly subcutaneous 3, 10, 30 mg/kg (about 0.05-0.5x RHD, BSA)
“In a 2-year carcinogenicity study in mice, bepirovirsen sodium was administered by subcutaneous injection weekly at doses of 3, 10, and 30 mg/kg (approximately 0.05, 0.2, and 0.5 times the RHD, respectively, based on BSA comparison).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year subcutaneous mouse study completed, described in the approved label
“In a 2-year carcinogenicity study in mice, bepirovirsen sodium was administered by subcutaneous injection weekly at doses of 3, 10, and 30 mg/kg (approximately 0.05, 0.2, and 0.5 times the RHD, respectively, based on BSA comparison).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →