Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Izervay: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Rabbit and dog repeat-dose intravitreal studies; interim data up to week 13 submitted under the initial IND
“Repeat-dose ocular toxicity studies were conducted in New Zealand White rabbits and Beagle dogs. An interim report (with data up to week 13) was submitted under the initial IND.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 41Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Izervay don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rabbit NOEL 0.5 mg/eye, NOAEL >=1.5 mg/eye; dog NOAEL 1.0 mg/eye; reversible retinal ganglion cell vacuolation, optic tract vacuolation in dog (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rabbit intravitreal study, 10 monthly doses through Week 37, with 4-week recovery (dog study of the same design)
“On Week 37 (after 10 monthly doses), mild retinal vacuolation was observed in the high dose group. The finding did not increase in severity between Doses 1 and 10. The finding was again reversible following a 4-week recovery period (Day 281).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 91Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 1-month and 9-month (10 monthly doses) IVT studies in rabbit and dog +/- Lucentis; 7-day IV rat and monkey studies
“Repeat-dose IVT toxicity studies were conducted in New Zealand White rabbits (0, 0.15, 0.5, and 1.5 mg/eye) and Beagle dogs (0, 0.3, 1, and 3.0 mg/eye).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (EFD only); fertility and pre/postnatal studies waived
“In the embryofetal development (EFD) toxicity studies in rats and rabbits, there was no avacincaptad pegol-related adverse effects on any measured maternal or fetal parameter at doses up to 1.2 mg/kg/day (NOAEL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
EFD studies in rat and rabbit (IV, NOAEL 1.2 mg/kg/day); FEED and PPND waived
“In the embryofetal development (EFD) toxicity studies in rats and rabbits, there was no avacincaptad pegol-related adverse effects on any measured maternal or fetal parameter at doses up to 1.2 mg/kg/day (NOAEL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: PPND (and FEED) waived; weight of evidence showed studies not necessary for the dosing regimen and indication
“The Applicant submitted a justification not to conduct carcinogenicity, fertility/early embryonic development, and pre-/postnatal development studies. The Pharmacology/Toxicology team concluded that the weight of evidence supports that the studies are not necessary for the intended dosing regimen and indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (waiver)
“No studies were conducted. The Applicant submitted a justification to support a waiver request not to conduct the carcinogenicity studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 69Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted: waiver based on mechanism of action, route, literature, class effects and existing data
“The Applicant justification to omit the conduct of nonclinical carcinogenicity studies is based on avacincaptad pegol mechanism of action, route of administration, a supportive literature review, an analysis of pharmacological class effects, and nonclinical and clinical data collected to date.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 69Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: carcinogenicity waiver accepted on weight of evidence
“The Applicant submitted a justification not to conduct carcinogenicity, fertility/early embryonic development, and pre-/postnatal development studies. The Pharmacology/Toxicology team concluded that the weight of evidence supports that the studies are not necessary for the intended dosing regimen and indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →