“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted for sevabertinib and are not warranted for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: maternal toxicity and reduced fetal weights at ≥6 mg/kg/day (≥0.18x human AUC)
“Sevabertinib treatment resulted in maternal toxicity (reduced body weight and body weight gain) and a reduction in fetal weights at ≥6 mg/kg/day (≥0.18 times the human exposure based on AUC at the clinical dose).”
No major acute effects on dog telemetry hemodynamics, rat CNS function or rat respiratory function
“Sevabertinib, at single oral doses, was devoid of major acute effects (i) on hemodynamic parameters in a dog telemetry study (Module 4.2.1.3, R-14051), (ii) on parameters of CNS function (behavior, locomotor activity, and body temperature) in rats”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 56Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Sevabertinib was not genotoxic in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) and an in vitro micronucleus assay, or an in vivo micronucleus assay in rats.”
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted for sevabertinib and are not warranted for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (ICH S9, advanced cancer)
“Consistent with the guideline ICH S9, carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support clinical trials for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer. The FDA’s Assessment: FDA agrees.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 90Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 2.36 µM, 26-fold free Cmax
“In a GLP-compliant study, sevabertinib inhibited hERG potassium current in vitro with an IC50 of 2.36 μM (26-fold the free Cmax of 88 nM).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Not genotoxic overall: Ames negative; in vitro chromosome aberration positive without (not with) metabolic activation; rat micronucleus and comet negative