Negative in Ames, rat micronucleus and alkaline comet assays
“Acoramidis showed no mutagenic or clastogenic activity in a standard battery of genotoxicity studies, which included a bacterial reverse-mutation study and rat micronucleus and alkaline comet assays (Table 70).”
2-year rat and 26-week rasH2 mouse: no carcinogenic potential
“A two-year oral carcinogenicity study in rats did not identify any carcinogenic potential at doses up to 50 mg/kg/day (males) or 350 mg/kg/day (females), doses producing exposures that approximated the clinical AUC or were 11-times the clinical AUC, respectively, at the MRHD. No acoramidis-related tumors were observed in a 26-week oral carcinogenicity study in Tg rasH2 mice.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat PPND: reduced pup weight gain and learning deficits at 1,000 mg/kg/day; no adverse effects at 350 mg/kg/day (~18x AUC)
“Decreased body weight gain from the neonatal period to weaning and learning deficits were observed in the offspring of dams given 1,000 mg/kg/day. No adverse effects on pre- and postnatal development were observed at 350 mg/kg/day, approximately 18-times the clinical exposure at the MRHD based on AUC.”
hERG IC50 >50 µM (>33-fold margin over free clinical exposure); no QT effect in dog telemetry
“The reported IC50 of >50 µM represents a >33-fold margin over the free fraction of the high clinical exposure estimated at 12,300 ng/mL. A GLP dog telemetry study demonstrated no concentration QT effect at multiple plasma concentrations above the high clinical exposure estimated at 12,300 ng/mL”
Not conducted; battery was Ames plus in vivo micronucleus and comet assays
“The genotoxic potential of acoramidis was assessed in a battery of three genotoxicity studies and includes an in vitro Ames test (8358481) and two in vivo studies: micronucleus and comet assays (8358482).”
Rat micronucleus and alkaline comet assays: negative
“There was no evidence of mutagenic or clastogenic potential with acoramidis in a standard battery of tests that included the in vitro bacterial reverse mutation assay and the in vivo rat micronucleus and alkaline comet assays.”
2-year rat (no carcinogenicity up to 50/350 mg/kg/day M/F); 26-week Tg rasH2 mouse (no tumors)
“A two-year oral carcinogenicity study in rats did not identify any carcinogenic potential at doses up to 50 mg/kg/day (males) or 350 mg/kg/day (females), doses producing exposures that approximated the clinical AUC or were 11-times the clinical AUC, respectively, at the MRHD. No acoramidis-related tumors were observed in a 26-week oral carcinogenicity study in Tg rasH2 mice.”
hERG IC50 >50 µM (>33-fold over free high clinical exposure); no QT effect in dog telemetry
“The reported IC50 of >50 µM represents a >33-fold margin over the free fraction of the high clinical exposure estimated at 12,300 ng/mL. A GLP dog telemetry study demonstrated no concentration QT effect at multiple plasma concentrations above the high clinical exposure estimated at 12,300 ng/mL”
Not genotoxic overall: Ames negative; in vitro chromosome aberration positive without (not with) metabolic activation; rat micronucleus and comet negative