2-year mouse and rat: no significant increase in neoplasms
“Two-year carcinogenicity studies conducted in mice and rats showed no significant increase in neoplasms in males or females in either study; the CDER Exec CAC concurred with this conclusion.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: reduced fetal weight and retarded ossification at maternally toxic 10 mg/kg/day (19x unbound AUC)
“In the embryo-fetal toxicity study in rats, finerenone resulted in reduced placental weights and signs of fetal toxicity, including reduced fetal weights and retarded ossification at the maternal toxic dose of 10 mg/kg/day, corresponding to an AUC unbound of 19 times that in humans.”
No adverse CNS, respiratory, hemodynamic/ECG or hERG effects
“Finerenone showed no adverse effects on CNS parameters and respiratory functions (rat), on hemodynamic/ECG parameters (dog), and on cardiac repolarization in vitro (hERG K+ current).”
Negative in five S. typhimurium strains up to 5.0 mg/plate, with and without S9
“finerenone did not induce gene mutations by base-pair changes or frame-shifts in the genome of five S. typhimurium strains when tested up to a maximum recommended dose of 5.0 mg/plate in the absence and presence of S9 mix.”
2-year mouse and 2-year rat; no significant increase in neoplasms (Exec CAC concurred)
“Two-year carcinogenicity studies conducted in mice and rats showed no significant increase in neoplasms in males or females in either study; the CDER Exec CAC concurred with this conclusion.”
2-year mouse and 2-year rat studies completed before the marketing application
“a full battery of reproductive toxicology studies (including a fertility and early embryonic development study in rat, embryofetal developmental toxicity studies in rat and rabbit and a pre-and postnatal development study in rat), and two 2-year carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat.”
hERG IC50 86 µmol/L, ~200x total and 2400x unbound clinical Cmax
“The hERG IC50 was 86 µmol/L (33 mg/L), which is approximately 200 times the total clinical Cmax (161 µg/L), and 2400 times the free fraction (Cmax, unbound 13.4 µg/L; fu 8.3%).”
Not genotoxic overall: Ames negative; in vitro chromosome aberration positive without (not with) metabolic activation; rat micronucleus and comet negative