2-year oral mouse and rat studies: no carcinogenic potential
“CAB has demonstrated a lack of carcinogenic potential in conventional oral 2-year studies in mouse and rats at doses corresponding 7 and 19-fold the clinical AUC exposure in patients.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat PPND: increased F1 stillbirths and early postnatal deaths at 1,000 mg/kg/dose
“In the pivotal rat PPND study, an increase in the number of F1 stillbirths and early postnatal deaths by PND 4 was observed at 1,000 mg/kg/dose (27.9× higher than human exposure at the proposed human dose).”
No hERG IC50 identified; transient heart rate and arterial pressure increases at 1,000 mg/kg only
“An IC50 was not identified in the hERG assay. Increases in heart rate and mean arterial pressure were observed at 1,000 mg/kg up to 2 hours postdose in the cardiovascular function study, but no drug-related effects on these parameters were observed in the general toxicology studies up to the highest doses tested.”
Mouse lymphoma assay: negative (3-fold increase in a non-GLP assay without S9 not reproduced in the GLP assay)
“A 3-fold increase in mutant frequency was noted in a non-GLP in vitro mouse lymphoma assay in the absence of S9 only, but no drug-related changes were observed in a subsequent GLP in vitro mouse lymphoma assay. As a result, CAB was also considered negative in this assay.”
Cabotegravir 2-year mouse and rat: no tumor increase in mice up to 8x (males) and 7x (females) human exposure
“Two-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in mice and rats. In mice, no drug-related increases in tumor incidence were observed up to 75 mg/kg/dose in males and 35 mg/kg/dose in females (8× [males] and 7× [females] higher than human exposure at the proposed human dose).”
Cabotegravir: no hERG inhibition up to solubility limit (7.14 µg/mL, ~1-2x clinical concentration); no IC50
“In vitro pharmacology studies showed that CAB did no inhibit of the hERG channel up to the highest concentration tested due to solubility propriety (7.14 µg/mL, ∼ 1x / ∼ 2x the clinical CAB concentration”
Not genotoxic overall: Ames negative; in vitro chromosome aberration positive without (not with) metabolic activation; rat micronucleus and comet negative