OtherVerdict not stated
Pivotal cabotegravir toxicity studies used the oral route; IM/SC route covered only by a 3-month rat bridging study
“All studies were conducted using the oral formulation of CAB, with the exception of a 3-month bridging study in rats using the subcutaneous and IM routes.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 126Source ↗ OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
No repeat-dose combination toxicity studies of cabotegravir plus rilpivirine
Why: Clinical experience with both drugs; no shared target organ; given as separate injections in separate locations · Human data · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Concerning the association CAB/RPV, it should be acknowledged the lack of combination toxicity studies due to the clinical experience with CAB and RPV, the lack of similar target organ indicating a potential additive/synergic interaction.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗ “Because CAB and RPV will be administered clinically as two separate IM injections in separate locations, the coadministration of these two drugs in humans was considered acceptable from a pharmacology/toxicology perspective.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗ DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No reproductive toxicity study with the cabotegravir-rilpivirine combination
Why: Rilpivirine already marketed; its animal studies showed no effect on reproductive function · Human data · Class precedent
“No study was conducted with the CAB-RPV combination which is acceptable. RPV is already marketed in Europe, and studies conducted in animals have shown no effect on reproductive function.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗ Safety marginVerdict not stated
Rabbit embryo-fetal NOAEL exposure only 0.7-fold human exposure
“No drug-related effects on rabbit embryo-fetal development were observed up to 2,000 mg/kg/dose (0.7× the human exposure at the proposed human dose).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗