“In general, findings in the pivotal repeat-dose toxicity studies with the API in monkey and minipig were limited to expected pharmacology and local toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Why that species
Pivotal monkey and minipig studies used infusion dosing with the clinical formulation
“These two pivotal studies were selected for detailed review because the study investigated infusion dosing with the clinical formulation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 86Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“The repeat dose toxicity of remimazolam dosed by the intravenous route, as a bolus injection, at 5, 10 and 20 mg/kg/day once daily for 4 weeks has been conducted, including a 2-week recovery period.”
“In general, findings in the pivotal repeat-dose toxicity studies with the API in monkey and minipig were limited to expected pharmacology and local toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (full DART battery); supplemental male reproductive tissue studies in minipig
“A full battery of developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies for remimazolam in the rat and rabbit model were submitted in the NDA. The Applicant also conducted supplemental studies to characterize the effects of remimazolam on male reproductive tissues in minipigs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; not required for the acute indication
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted or required to support the safety of the proposed acute indication with remimazolam.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 123Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.