“Oral toxicology studies of up to 6 and 9 months’ duration were conducted in Sprague Dawley (SD) rat and cynomolgus monkey, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Why that species
Monkey CGRP receptor affinity similar to human; rodent affinity >1,300-fold lower, so rat is insensitive
“Comparing activity across species, rimegepant exhibits similar receptor affinities at both human (Ki of 33 pM) and nonhuman primate (marmoset (92 pM) and cynomolgus monkey (60 pM)) CGRP receptors, with more than 1,300-fold less activity at dog (43 nM), rat (209 nM) and mouse (104 nM) CGRP receptors as compared to human.”
“Doses of 0, 5, 15, and 50 mg/kg were evaluated in the pivotal 9-month study; there were no adverse findings. The NOAEL for orally-administered rimegepant in monkey was 50 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 58Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat (6-month) and cynomolgus monkey (9-month)
“Oral toxicology studies of up to 6 and 9 months’ duration were conducted in Sprague Dawley (SD) rat and cynomolgus monkey, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit
“Reproductive toxicity studies conducted and rats and rabbits were considered adequate for assessment of possible rimegepant-induced effects on reproduction.”
Tg.rasH2 mouse (26-week) and Sprague-Dawley rat (lifetime)
“The carcinogenic potential of rimegepant was assessed in a 26-week study in Tg.rasH2 mouse (0, 10, 100, or 300 mg/kg/day) and a lifetime study in Sprague-Dawley rat (0, 5, 20, or 45 mg/kg/day).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.