Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

What tox package did approved gene therapies have, from first-in-human to approval?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 26 approved gene therapies. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
2 of 26 ran first-in-human outside the US (where the reviews say so); 4 had a recovery phase in the longest repeat-dose study; 0 finished PPND after the marketing application.
First-in-human: US only2/26
First-in-human: outside the US1/26
First-in-human: US and ex-US1/26
First-in-human: not stated22/26
Longest repeat-dose: with recovery phase4/26
Longest repeat-dose: recovery not stated2/26
Longest repeat-dose: no repeat-dose study20/26
PPND: not conducted22/26
PPND: not stated4/26
Carcinogenicity: not required26/26

Precedent by precedent

26 approved gene therapies, with the reviewers' own words.

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
First-in-human: where
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US
“It is acceptable that all clinical studies with nadofaragene firadenovec were conducted in the US (Table 1)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 92Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Cynomolgus monkey intravesical GLP study, doses on Days 1 and 91, with 2-month recovery
“control on Days 1 and 91, followed by a two month observation period in a GLP toxicology study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, target population)
“Carcinogenicity and reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not performed for rAd-IFN/Syn3. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, target population)
“Carcinogenicity and reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not performed for rAd-IFN/Syn3. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing
“rAAV2-hAADC was subsequently tested in the first-in-human clinical trials of patients with Parkinson’s disease at dose levels of 9×1010 and 3×1011 vg via bilateral intra-putaminal dosing (Christine 2009, Muramatsu 2010).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration; persistent expression through 6 months in rodents gives chronic exposure)
“Eladocagene exuparvovec is a single dose gene therapy with persistent gene expression through 6 months in rodents (Leidos 8366537, AADC-003) which provides chronic exposure and, therefore, no repeat-dose studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and target patient population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of KEBLIDI were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; not warranted given product characteristics and target patient population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of KEBLIDI were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
First-in-human: where
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study
“Study DB-OTO-001 was conducted in 7 US and 4 ex-US sites.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single intracochlear administration); single-dose mouse and cynomolgus monkey studies
“Single-dose toxicology studies were conducted in Otof-Q828X hom mice and cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted (intracochlear route, limited systemic exposure, target population, no toxicology concerns)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with DB-OTO. These studies were not warranted based on the IC route of administration, limited systemic exposure, target patient population, and absence of safety concerns in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not warranted (intracochlear route, limited systemic exposure)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with DB-OTO. These studies were not warranted based on the IC route of administration, limited systemic exposure, target patient population, and absence of safety concerns in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A
“Study 270-201 was a first-in-human, Phase 1/2 open-label, dose-escalation study of ROCTAVIAN”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 17Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single-dose administration gene therapy)
“No repeat-dose toxicity studies were performed because BMN 270 is a single-dose administration gene”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics, toxicology results and target population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ROCTAVIAN were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, target population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ROCTAVIAN were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)
“GSK2696273 was first administered to humans in 2000 in a pilot clinical study with one subject with confirmed ADA-SCID who had no HLA-identical sibling or prior ERT therapy received treatment and follow-up at Hadassah University (Jerusalem, Israel), with the cooperation of HSRTIGET.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 58Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration of patient-derived cells)
“Due to the nature of Strimvelis, repeat dose toxicity studies were not conducted since GSK2696273 consists of patient-derived cells that are intended to consist of the ADA gene, to allow for expression of the related ubiquitous protein at or below physiological levels.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; busulfan conditioning is known to be gonadotoxic
“No reproductive or developmental toxicity studies were conducted with GSK2696273. Patients will receive a low dose of busulfan as pre-conditioning treatment.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; tumorigenicity risk assessment based on clinical data and literature on similar vectors
“In summary, in previous scientific advice, it was agreed that the tumourgenicity risk assessment for GSK2696273 could be based on clinical data and literature on similar vectors if tumourgenicity/general toxicity studies were unsuccessful in allowing for the determination of optimal conditions for a full tumourgenicity study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
First-in-human: where
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA
“The completed clinical trial enrolled 15 infants with SMA from one site in the United States.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single IV administration)
“No repeat-dose toxicology studies were performed with AVXS-101 since this will be intended for single IV administration only.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, infant patient population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted by product characteristics, toxicology results and patient population)
“These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were not performed because fidanacogene elaparvovec is intended for single administration to patients.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: hemophilia B population almost exclusively male; not intended for women
“Per applicant, hemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male subjects, and BEQVEZ is not intended for administration in women. This reviewer agrees that the omission of dedicated embryo-fetal development studies and pre- and postnatal development studies is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted (product characteristics, biodistribution and toxicology results)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of BEQVEZ were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the biodistribution and toxicology studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“A repeat-dose toxicity study was not performed and is not required as exa-cel is intended for single-dose administration only.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 44Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted (product characteristics and safety profile)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity studies and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with CASGEVY. These studies are not warranted based on the characteristics and safety profile of the product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted (product characteristics and safety profile)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity studies and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with CASGEVY. These studies are not warranted based on the characteristics and safety profile of the product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose toxicity study (single administration); longest is single-dose IV mouse study with 24-week observation
“To evaluate the toxicity of SRP-9001 when administered as a single dose via IV injection to male mice; animals were observed for either 12 or 24 weeks”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: acceptable given patient population and no ELEVIDYS-related adverse toxicology findings
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: acceptable given patient population and no ELEVIDYS-related adverse toxicology findings
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration); longest is 6-month GLP single IV mouse study
“No adverse vector-related findings were observed in the 6-month Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) safety and BD study, which investigated the effect of a single intravenous administration”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART replaced by weight-of-evidence approach
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI. To address these concerns, the Applicant used a weight-of-evidence approach”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity addressed by weight-of-evidence approach
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI. To address these concerns, the Applicant used a weight-of-evidence approach”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration); longest is 6-month single-dose juvenile NHP study
“One 6-month, single-dose toxicology study was conducted in healthy juvenile non-human primates (NHPs)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: AAV8 vectors predominantly non-integrating and episomal
“Per the Applicant, studies were not conducted to evaluate carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity for the following reasons: • AAV8 vectors are predominantly non-integrating and persist as episomes with low likelihoods of genomic integration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration at multiple intramuscular sites)
“Repeated dose toxicity studies were not conducted as Glybera will be administered once at multiple sites intramuscularly.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: no study design accepted as relevant to assess insertional mutagenesis and oncogenicity
“In vivo carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted. The applicant argued that there is no existing study design that would be accepted as relevant to assess insertional mutagenesis and the risk of oncogenicity”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No repeated dose toxicity studies were conducted. This is acceptable, as only a single etranacogene dezaparvovec administration is intended in patients”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not required; hemophilia B almost exclusively male and adult-only application
“As haemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male patients, and as the current MAA only comprises adult patients, dedicated EFD and PPND studies are not required.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Mouse subcutaneous study, once weekly for 12 weeks, with 12-week recovery
“Groups 1 to 4 (Toxicity phase) were injected once weekly for 12 weeks and were sacrificed at 24 hours and 4 and 12 weeks post-last injection.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 75Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: no pre- and postnatal development study submitted (mouse embryo-fetal study only)
“The applicant did not submit prenatal and postnatal development studies or in juvenile animals (see non-clinical discussion).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not required per ICH S9; carcinogenic potential assessed from HSV-1 epidemiological data
“In accordance with the ICH S9 guideline, no carcinogenicity studies have been conducted. The carcinogenic potential for an HSV-1-based therapy was evaluated by review of the available epidemiological data.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 44Source ↗

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not necessary (single infusion, known product characteristics, class safety profile)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; single transplant of transduced cells in a 1-month mouse toxicology/biodistribution study
“A 1-month in vivo toxicology and biodistribution (BD) study was also conducted using recipient mice for safety evaluation of Chim-CD18-WPRE LV transduced Lin- murine HSPCs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with KRESLADITM. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted given product characteristics)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with KRESLADITM. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration); single-dose toxicity assessed within long-term toxicity studies
“No single dose and repeat dose toxicity studies were performed. Single dose toxicity was taken along in the long-term toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with OTL-200. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with OTL-200. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Non-GLP monkey subretinal re-administration study (first eye, then contralateral eye), sacrificed at Days 190 and 217; no recovery phase defined. GLP studies were single-dose (dog)
“Scheduled Sacrifice Time Points Days 190 (two animals) and 217 (two animals)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted or required, based on product attributes, publications and pharmacology/toxicology data
“studies to evaluate safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity were not conducted or required for AAV2-hRPE65v2.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (CHMP advised 2-year rodent studies would not be meaningful)
“CHMP also advised that in vivo testing in 2-year carcinogenicity studies in mice or rats would not contribute meaningful data to assessing the risk of carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study; single-transplant mouse studies, longest followed 6 months post-transplant (secondary transplantation)
“In the secondary transplantation study, no deaths or adverse findings attributed to the BB305 LVV-transduced cells occurred through 6 months post-transplantation of 6×106 cells/mouse.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with LYFGENIA™. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with LYFGENIA™. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-week mouse (C57BL/6) SC study, once weekly; non-GLP; recovery phase not stated
“Local tolerance and systemic toxicity were assessed as part of the repeat dose toxicity study of PRGN-2012 in wild type (WT) C57BL/6 mice. PRGN-2012 or GC46.empty vector was administered once weekly for three weeks at 1×1010 VP/administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; reviewer agreed with the applicant's rationale
“This reviewer agrees with the rationale provided by the applicant for not conducting developmental and reproductive toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; reviewer agreed with rationale for not conducting
“This reviewer agrees with the rationale provided by the applicant for not conducting carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single autologous IV administration)
“As Lenti-D Drug Product is intended for a single autologous IV administration, not performing any repeat-dose toxicity studies is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were not performed for eli-cel which is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; omission acceptable given nature of product
“No repeat-dose toxicology, dedicated carcinogenicity, juvenile or developmental and reproductive toxicology studies were performed, and their omission is acceptable considering the nature of the product.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rat repeat-dose mRP1 study (16 doses every 3 days for 7 weeks) with follow-up up to 6 months after final dose
“In a follow-up study, 16 doses (every 3 days for 7 weeks) of mRP1 were administered to healthy rats. mRP1 DNA was not detected in any neurologic tissues and there was no evidence of viral reactivation at any time point up to 6 months post-final dosing, indicating minimal risk of latency and reactivation of mRP1.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity of TUDRIQEV were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Mouse intradermal GLP study, 5 weekly doses, with 30-day recovery
“Analysis of in vivo biodistribution after five weekly repeat ID doses of VYJUVEK in mice at 6.9 x 106 or 3.45 x 107 pfu/dose/mouse resulted in vector detection primarily at the injection site, which declined to baseline by 30 days after the last dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART studies not conducted, acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity (DART) studies were not conducted with VYJUVEK. This is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (no carcinogenic risk indicated by data for KB103 and wild-type HSV-1)
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with VYJUVEK were performed because available data for both KB103 and wild-type HSV-1 do not indicate a carcinogenic risk in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration with engraftment)
“No repeat-dose toxicity studies have been presented by the applicant, which is acceptable considering that the product is intended to be administered to patients as a single administration, with subsequent engraftment into the patient.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“No carcinogenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies, and safety pharmacology studies were conducted for WASKYRA. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted for this product)
“No carcinogenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies, and safety pharmacology studies were conducted for WASKYRA. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single implantation); mouse toxicology/biodistribution study with 4- or 8-week sacrifice
“In the toxicology and biodistribution (BD) study, nonclinical products representative of ZEVASKYN comprised of human acellular dermal matrix and RVV-transduced human keratinocytes (cells alone) were implanted into excisional wounds generated in mice for 4- or 8-weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: vector biodistribution confined to the implanted product
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) studies of ZEVASKYN were not conducted due to the BD of RVV remaining confined to representative nonclinical products.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not conducted given histology, low oncogenesis risk and SCC screening)
“Carcinogenicity and tumorigenicity studies of ZEVASKYN were not conducted due to absence of neoplastic features on histology, low risk of insertional oncogenesis, and frequent SCC screening recommended for all subjects with RDEB.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No repeated dose toxicity studies were performed as the treatment foresees only one unique injection”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗