Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vyjuvek: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vyjuvek don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 6.9e6 pfu (low dose) in mouse intradermal study; dose-site scabbing, inflammatory lymphocyte hyperplasia; no adverse findings per FDA (EMA assessment report, p. 32)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Mouse intradermal GLP study, 5 weekly doses, with 30-day recovery
“Analysis of in vivo biodistribution after five weekly repeat ID doses of VYJUVEK in mice at 6.9 x 106 or 3.45 x 107 pfu/dose/mouse resulted in vector detection primarily at the injection site, which declined to baseline by 30 days after the last dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP BALB/c mouse studies: single IV; 5 weekly intradermal doses with 30-day recovery; single topical to wounded skin
“five repeat weekly ID administrations of VYJUVEK in BALB/c mice at 6.9 x 106 or 3.45 x 107 pfu/mouse/administration”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (limited systemic biodistribution; no vector in reproductive organs after topical dosing)
“No DART studies with VYJUVEK were performed because limited systemic biodistribution of the vector was observed and no vector was detected in the reproductive organs of mice that received topical application of VYJUVEK.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile)
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity (DART) studies were not conducted with VYJUVEK.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART studies not conducted, acceptable given product characteristics and safety profile
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity (DART) studies were not conducted with VYJUVEK. This is acceptable based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no carcinogenic risk indicated for KB103 or wild-type HSV-1)
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with VYJUVEK were performed because available data for both KB103 and wild-type HSV-1 do not indicate a carcinogenic risk in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence literature risk assessment instead
“No carcinogenicity studies were performed, and the applicant provided a weight of evidence risk assessment, based on a literature search up to July 2024.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (no carcinogenic risk indicated by data for KB103 and wild-type HSV-1)
“No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies with VYJUVEK were performed because available data for both KB103 and wild-type HSV-1 do not indicate a carcinogenic risk in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →