Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kebilidi: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing
“rAAV2-hAADC was subsequently tested in the first-in-human clinical trials of patients with Parkinson’s disease at dose levels of 9×1010 and 3×1011 vg via bilateral intra-putaminal dosing (Christine 2009, Muramatsu 2010).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Prior adult PD rAAV2-hAADC clinical doses (up to 3x10^11 vg) scaled by brain mass; 1.8x10^11 vg (~60%)
“The applicant justified this dose on the basis that clinical studies in adult PD using rAAV2-hAADC reported that doses up to 3x 1011 vg of rAAV2-hAADC in a volume of 4×50 μl were well tolerated following bilateral, intraputaminal infusions during a single operative session.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration; persistent expression through 6 months in rodents gives chronic exposure)
“Eladocagene exuparvovec is a single dose gene therapy with persistent gene expression through 6 months in rodents (Leidos 8366537, AADC-003) which provides chronic exposure and, therefore, no repeat-dose studies were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Rat single-dose intraputaminal 30-day and 6-month GLP tox/BD; NHP 30-day poloxamer study; NHP 4-week route BD study
“Two single-dose studies were conducted to assess toxicity at 30-days and 6 months.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (agreed with CHMP)
“No specific developmental and reproductive toxicology studies were conducted by the applicant with eladocagene exuparvovec, in agreement with CHMP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (local brain delivery, no systemic exposure or gonadal distribution)
“Given the local administration of eladocagene exuparvovec to the brain and lack of systemic exposure, and the absence of biodistribution to the gonads, the risk for germline transmission is low.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and target patient population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of KEBLIDI were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and patient population)
“No nonclinical studies were conducted to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of eladocagene exuparvovec-tneq as such studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA clinical review (nonclinical section), p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence (episomal AAV2, no tumors in rat chronic studies) indicates low integration/tumorigenicity risk in post-mitotic neurons
“The applicant has provided a discussion on the risk of insertional mutagenesis and carcinogenic potential. Based on the weight of evidence discussed there appears to be a low risk for genomic integration or tumorigenicity in post­mitotic neuronal cells.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 44Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; not warranted given product characteristics and target patient population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of KEBLIDI were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Kebilidi, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →