Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Zynteglo: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zynteglo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL defined; no test-article-related mortality or adverse effects at 42x10^6 cells/kg; lymphomas judged incidental (radiation/strain background) (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No repeated dose toxicity studies were performed as the treatment foresees only one unique injection”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Combined pivotal POC/biodistribution/single-dose tox/genotox studies in thalassaemic mice (primary and secondary transplant), NSG mice; single IV dose after busulfan
“These in vivo studies (NC-11-002, NC-12-019, B2-15-161 and B2-16-200) were pivotal and combined pharmacology, biodistribution, single-dose toxicity and genotoxicity studies”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; no adverse findings in reproductive tissues of mice given murine product
“No developmental and/or reproductive toxicity (DART) studies were submitted to support the use of Zynteglo for the treatment of TDT.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; no tumorigenicity or insertional oncogenesis in studies with transduced β-thalassaemic mouse BMCs or human HSCs
“No tumorigenicity and no evidence of an oncogenesis event related to insertional mutagenesis were observed in the nonclinical studies using BB305 LVV-transduced β-thalassaemic mouse BMCs or human healthy donor HSCs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with beti-cel. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →