Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Strimvelis: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)
“GSK2696273 was first administered to humans in 2000 in a pilot clinical study with one subject with confirmed ADA-SCID who had no HLA-identical sibling or prior ERT therapy received treatment and follow-up at Hadassah University (Jerusalem, Israel), with the cooperation of HSRTIGET.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 58Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
No nonclinical dose justification stated; first (investigator-initiated) protocol based on nonclinically optimised transduction conditions
“The first ADA/SCID clinical protocol for Study Number AD1117054 was based on the optimised transduction conditions from the nonclinical studies described above.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration of patient-derived cells)
“Due to the nature of Strimvelis, repeat dose toxicity studies were not conducted since GSK2696273 consists of patient-derived cells that are intended to consist of the ADA gene, to allow for expression of the related ubiquitous protein at or below physiological levels.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
One GLP combined biodistribution/toxicity study: busulfan-conditioned NSG mice, single IV dose of transduced UCB CD34+ cells, 16 weeks
“In this study, NSG mice (n=10/sex/group) were pre-conditioned with busulfan [40 mg/kg total dose over 2 days; intraperitoneal (IP)] prior to dosing transduced cells”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted
“No reproductive or developmental toxicity studies were conducted with GSK2696273.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; gonad histopathology in biodistribution study (busulfan-related atrophy); germline risk via clinical monitoring
“No reproductive or developmental toxicity studies were conducted with GSK2696273.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; busulfan conditioning is known to be gonadotoxic
“No reproductive or developmental toxicity studies were conducted with GSK2696273. Patients will receive a low dose of busulfan as pre-conditioning treatment.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no adequate model; long-term engraftment of transduced cells not achievable in mice)
“Accordingly, the SmPC states that carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted as no adequate animal model was available to evaluate the tumourigenic potential of Strimvelis due to the inability to achieve long-term engraftment of transduced cells in mice.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; pilot tumorigenicity studies could not achieve long-term engraftment of transduced cells in mice
“Conducted pilot studies indicate that a tumourgenicity study is not feasible since it was not possible to demonstrate long-term engraftment of transduced cells in mice.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; tumorigenicity risk assessment based on clinical data and literature on similar vectors
“In summary, in previous scientific advice, it was agreed that the tumourgenicity risk assessment for GSK2696273 could be based on clinical data and literature on similar vectors if tumourgenicity/general toxicity studies were unsuccessful in allowing for the determination of optimal conditions for a full tumourgenicity study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →