Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Waskyra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Waskyra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL; no increased mortality, tumorigenicity or toxicity related to transduced HSPCs; lymphomas were of host origin (EMA assessment report, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration with engraftment)
“No repeat-dose toxicity studies have been presented by the applicant, which is acceptable considering that the product is intended to be administered to patients as a single administration, with subsequent engraftment into the patient.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No standalone GLP pivotal tox study; two non-pivotal WKO mouse studies (sublethal/lethal irradiation) plus serial transplant, 12-16 months
“No standalone, GLP in vivo pivotal toxicology study has been performed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (patient population, nature of gene therapy, conditioning with developmental toxicants)
“The absence of standard developmental and reproductive toxicity studies with Telethon003 is acceptable in view of the patient population, nature of the gene therapy, and preconditioning regimen with developmental toxicants.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; no vector in testes, no treatment-related effect on reproductive organs in mouse surrogate study
“No carcinogenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies, and safety pharmacology studies were conducted for WASKYRA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted based on product characteristics and safety profile
“No carcinogenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies, and safety pharmacology studies were conducted for WASKYRA. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not suitable for this product type)
“Traditional carcinogenicity studies were not conducted since they are not suitable for assessment of this drug product type.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; tumorigenicity assessed by IVIM assay and in vivo integration site analysis, no evidence of tumorigenicity
“Traditional carcinogenicity studies were not conducted since they are not suitable for assessment of this drug product type. The nonclinical data provided by the applicant showed no evidence of tumorigenicity using the in vitro immortalization (IVIM) assay (U Modlich, 2009)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted for this product)
“No carcinogenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) studies, and safety pharmacology studies were conducted for WASKYRA. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →