Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Beqvez: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Beqvez don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NHP 1-5x10^12 vg/kg (2-10x clinical): no adverse findings, no thrombosis; mouse deaths linked to brain/skin findings (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were not performed because fidanacogene elaparvovec is intended for single administration to patients.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single IV NHP study (30/90-day recovery, to day 542); 12-month mouse study; GLP 2-year NHP integration study
“A GLP Toxicity Study of -hFIX-Padua by Intravenous Infusion in Monkeys with a 30- or 90- day Recovery Period”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (hemophilia B almost exclusively male; not intended for women)
“Per applicant, hemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male subjects, and BEQVEZ is not intended for administration in women.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (male-only population); rabbit semen shedding/germline study only
“This reviewer agrees that the omission of dedicated embryo-fetal development studies and pre- and postnatal development studies is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: hemophilia B population almost exclusively male; not intended for women
“Per applicant, hemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male subjects, and BEQVEZ is not intended for administration in women. This reviewer agrees that the omission of dedicated embryo-fetal development studies and pre- and postnatal development studies is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics, BD/toxicology results, patient population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of BEQVEZ were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the biodistribution and toxicology studies, and patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; 2-year NHP vector integration study showed no hepatocellular hyperplasia or carcinoma
“In a 2-year vector integration study in NHPs administered 5 × 1012 vg/kg, there was no indication that integration of vector DNA into host cell DNA resulted in altered liver function, hepatocellular hyperplasia or carcinoma.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted (product characteristics, biodistribution and toxicology results)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of BEQVEZ were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the biodistribution and toxicology studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →