Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Otarmeni: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study
“Study DB-OTO-001 was conducted in 7 US and 4 ex-US sites.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
PD Emax modeling of mouse ABR data: plateau >2e13 vg/mL; clinical 3e13 vg/mL (1.5x), concentration-scaled NOAEL margins 2.2-2.4x
“The selection of the proposed clinical dose concentration of 3 x 1013 vg/mL is supported by the pharmacodynamic modeling (OTOF-10116) of ABR improvements in the Otof-Q828X hom mouse model as well as the safety profile established in the GLP toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single intracochlear administration); single-dose mouse and cynomolgus monkey studies
“Single-dose toxicology studies were conducted in Otof-Q828X hom mice and cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose: 2-month adult mouse (RWM), 3-month juvenile mouse (PSCC), 7/27-week cynomolgus (bilateral RWM)
“The 2-month Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) study in adult mice, and the 3-month GLP study in juvenile mice, at dose levels up to 1.3 x 1011 vg/ear showed no DB-OTO-related adverse findings, with a no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) of 1.3 x 1011 vg/ear.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (intracochlear route, limited systemic exposure, target population, no toxicology concerns)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with DB-OTO. These studies were not warranted based on the IC route of administration, limited systemic exposure, target patient population, and absence of safety concerns in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; gonadal biodistribution/expression assessed in tox studies (negligible, no findings)
“Across these nonclinical studies, there was negligible biodistribution of DB-OTO vector to the gonads, no expression of hOTOF mRNA in the gonads, and no gross or microscopic findings in the gonads, suggesting a low reproductive and germline integration risk.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted (intracochlear route, limited systemic exposure, target population, no toxicology concerns)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with DB-OTO. These studies were not warranted based on the IC route of administration, limited systemic exposure, target patient population, and absence of safety concerns in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with DB-OTO.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (limited vector distribution beyond inner ear; no clinical evidence of AAV carcinogenesis)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with DB-OTO. These were considered not warranted based on a review of the animal toxicology studies, data from biodistribution studies showing limited DB-OTO vector distribution beyond the local compartment of the inner ear, and a lack of clinical evidence of carcinogenesis attributable to recombinant AAV vectors.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not warranted (intracochlear route, limited systemic exposure)
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with DB-OTO. These studies were not warranted based on the IC route of administration, limited systemic exposure, target patient population, and absence of safety concerns in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Otarmeni, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →