Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Lenmeldy: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Lenmeldy don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No formal NOAEL; no test-article toxicity or malignancy at 1x10^6 cells/mouse (40-50x10^6 cells/kg); findings from As2-/- phenotype and irradiation (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration); single-dose toxicity assessed within long-term toxicity studies
“No single dose and repeat dose toxicity studies were performed. Single dose toxicity was taken along in the long-term toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP toxicology/tumorigenicity study, As2-/- mice, single IV ARSA-LV or mock HSPCs, 52 weeks post-dose
“Toxicology and tumorigenicity study in ARSA KO mice treated with ARSA-/- HSPCs transduced with ARSA.LV Vector”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 15Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (ex vivo transduction with replication-incompetent LV; germline risk very limited)
“No dedicated reproductive and developmental studies are undertaken. As the cells are transduced ex vivo with a replication-incompetent lentiviral vector, the risk for transduction of the gametes and consequently the risk from germline transduction can be regarded as very limited and rather theoretical.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (ex vivo transduction; germline transduction risk very limited)
“No dedicated reproductive and developmental studies are undertaken.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with OTL-200. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with OTL-200. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
No carcinogenicity study; 12-month GLP tumorigenicity study in As2-/- mice: 2 hepatocellular neoplasms (1 ARSA-LV, 1 mock-LV)
“During the observation period of 12 months after transplantation, only 2 hepatocellular neoplasms were found (1 in ARSA-LV group, 1 in mock-LV group).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted given product characteristics and safety profile)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with OTL-200. These studies are not warranted based on the product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →