Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Elevidys: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Elevidys don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 4.01x10^14 vg/kg (WT, mdx, neonatal mice); 1.33x10^14 in mdx 12-wk study (hydrocephalus); non-adverse minimal liver findings (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose toxicity study (single administration); longest is single-dose IV mouse study with 24-week observation
“To evaluate the toxicity of SRP-9001 when administered as a single dose via IV injection to male mice; animals were observed for either 12 or 24 weeks”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose IV mouse studies: 24-week (WT+mdx), 12-week (WT+mdx, Catalent lot), 13-week neonatal juvenile tox
“A 3-month GLP toxicology study (Report No. SR-20-015) evaluated single IV administration of ELEVIDYS (manufactured by Process B at Catalent) in neonatal C57BL/6J WT mice administered 1.33 × 1014 and 4.01 × 1014 vg/kg at post-natal day 1.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (patient population; no adverse findings in toxicology studies)
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (male population, no reproductive lesions); neonatal juvenile tox done; low germline signal in testes
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: acceptable given patient population and no ELEVIDYS-related adverse toxicology findings
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (patient population; no adverse findings in toxicology studies)
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; applicant cited no cancer reported across 162 AAV clinical trials
“AAV of various serotypes including AAV2 and AAVrh74, have been studied in 162 clinical trials; thus far, no cancer of any type has been reported.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 48Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: acceptable given patient population and no ELEVIDYS-related adverse toxicology findings
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicity and carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with ELEVIDYS, which is acceptable based on the patient population and lack of ELEVIDYS-related adverse findings in the toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →