Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Glybera: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not explicitly justified; clinical 1x10^12 gc/kg lies within active range in LPL-/- mice (10^11-10^13); tox covered 10x
“Activity was demonstrated in the dose range 1011-1013 gc/kg compared to the proposed human dose of 1x1012 gc/kg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration at multiple intramuscular sites)
“Repeated dose toxicity studies were not conducted as Glybera will be administered once at multiple sites intramuscularly.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Single-dose IM mouse studies: AMT-010 (90-day), AMT-011 (180-day, 105-day with immunosuppression); combined repro/breeding study
“The non-clinical toxicology programme of Glybera included one single dose toxicity study performed with AMT-010 with a 90-day observation period, two single dose toxicity studies performed with AMT-011 with a 180-day and 105-day observation period, respectively, and a combined reproductive toxicology and breeding study performed with AMT-011.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse (pregnant mice: female reproduction and fetal development)
“Reproductive toxicity was studied in pregnant mice in whom no effects of female reproduction or fetal development were detected.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse repro study: no effects on female reproduction or fetal development; male breeding study showed no paternal germline transmission
“Reproductive toxicity was studied in pregnant mice in whom no effects of female reproduction or fetal development were detected.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted; integration studies argued sufficient
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted. The applicant argues that the studies conducted to assess integration are sufficient to address risk of carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; replaced by vector integration analyses: 97% of vector not integrated (episomal)
“Studies using techniques to selectively digest genomic DNA showed that the majority (97%) of AMT-011 is not integrated into the genome, implying their presence episomally.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: no study design accepted as relevant to assess insertional mutagenesis and oncogenicity
“In vivo carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted. The applicant argued that there is no existing study design that would be accepted as relevant to assess insertional mutagenesis and the risk of oncogenicity”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →