Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Genglycos: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Genglycos don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 1.0x10^13 gc/kg adult mouse (hepatic necrosis, Kupffer cell changes above); 7.0x10^13 juvenile mouse; ~1.3x10^14 gc/kg NHP (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration); longest is 6-month single-dose juvenile NHP study
“One 6-month, single-dose toxicology study was conducted in healthy juvenile non-human primates (NHPs)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Three 92-day single-dose IV studies in adult/juvenile mice; one 6-month single-dose IV GLP study in juvenile cynomolgus monkeys
“One 6-month, single-dose toxicology study was conducted in healthy juvenile non-human primates (NHPs)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse only (embryo-fetal development study; separate pre-mating germline transmission study)
“Similarly, IV administration of DTX401 at 7 × 1013 gc/kg to pregnant dams at presumed gestational day (GD) 6 resulted in DTX401 DNA detection in placenta but not offspring livers, and there was no impact on embryofetal development on GD 18.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Embryo-fetal development and germline transmission studies in mice; NOAEL 7.0x10^13 gc/kg; no germline integration
“IV administration of DTX401 at 7 × 1013 gc/kg to pregnant dams at presumed gestational day (GD) 6 resulted in DTX401 DNA detection in placenta but not offspring livers”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Per the Applicant, studies were not conducted to evaluate carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity for the following reasons:”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; AAV8 vectors predominantly non-integrating and episomal
“AAV8 vectors are predominantly non-integrating and persist as episomes with low likelihoods of genomic integration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: AAV8 vectors predominantly non-integrating and episomal
“Per the Applicant, studies were not conducted to evaluate carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity for the following reasons: • AAV8 vectors are predominantly non-integrating and persist as episomes with low likelihoods of genomic integration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Genglycos, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →