Not conducted; literature weight-of-evidence shows no clear carcinogenicity concern from IL-17A/F inhibition
“In conclusion, the literature does not suggest a clear concern that inhibition of IL-17A and IL-17F would lead to carcinogenicity or tumor development.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 208Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND: NOAEL 50 mg/kg/week for maternal and developmental toxicity (38x MRHD)
“The no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) for both maternal and developmental toxicity was identified as 50 mg/kg/week which is 38 times (based on mg/kg comparison) the maximum recommended human dose”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 209Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into monkey repeat-dose studies; no CNS, respiratory, ECG or blood pressure effects up to 200 mg/kg/week
“Clinical observations from the repeat-dose toxicity studies conducted in cynomolgus monkeys indicate bimekizumab does not induce central nervous system or respiratory effects. No ECG or blood pressure effects were observed in cynomolgus monkeys treated subcutaneously for 26 weeks with up to 200 mg/kg/week bimekizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 206Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“As per ICH Guidance S6 R1, Preclinical safety evaluation of biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals (Section 4.7 Genotoxicity Studies), no genetic toxicology testing is warranted for bimekizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 208Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“As per ICH Guidance S6 R1, Preclinical safety evaluation of biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals (Section 4.7 Genotoxicity Studies), no genetic toxicology testing is warranted for bimekizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 208Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“As per ICH Guidance S6 R1, Preclinical safety evaluation of biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals (Section 4.7 Genotoxicity Studies), no genetic toxicology testing is warranted for bimekizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 208Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; literature-based carcinogenic risk assessment instead
“No genetic toxicology or carcinogenicity studies were conducted with bimekizumab. The Applicant provided a carcinogenic risk assessment, using information from the published literature.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 205Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Waived: CDER ECAC agreed rodent carcinogenicity studies are not feasible
“The Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee of CDER agreed that rodent carcinogenicity studies are not feasible and the Applicant was granted a waiver for their conduct (March 28, 2018).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 208Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no ECG or blood pressure effects in monkeys up to 200 mg/kg/week for 26 weeks
“No ECG or blood pressure effects were observed in cynomolgus monkeys treated subcutaneously for 26 weeks with up to 200 mg/kg/week bimekizumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 206Source ↗