“no genotoxicity studies were performed with evinacumab, per ICH S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 34Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment (literature and animal toxicology studies) found no identified carcinogenicity risk
“The Applicant submitted a weight of evidence carcinogenicity assessment for evinacumab based on available evidence from relevant literature and completed animal toxicology studies, which suggested that there is no identified risk of carcinogenicity for evinacumab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 34Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Fertility endpoints in 26-week monkey study; rat combined female fertility/early embryonic/pre- and postnatal study; rat and rabbit EFD studies
“The reproductive toxicity of evinacumab was assessed using male and female fertility endpoints collected from the chronic 26-week monkey toxicity study, and by conducting combined female fertility/early embryonic/pre and postnatal development study in rats, embryofetal development studies in rats and rabbits”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Integrated into pivotal GLP repeat-dose rat and monkey studies
“Safety pharmacology studies were integrated into pivotal GLP repeat dose toxicology studies of evinacumab conducted in rats and cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6; not expected to interact with DNA)
“Evinacumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies are not appropriate for this reason.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6; not expected to interact with DNA)
“Evinacumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies are not appropriate for this reason.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6; not expected to interact with DNA)
“Evinacumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies are not appropriate for this reason.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment from literature and animal toxicology studies
“The Applicant submitted a weight of evidence assessment to address the carcinogenic potential of evinacumab, which was based on information available from relevant literature and animal toxicology studies completed under the IND.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: no animal studies requested after Executive CAC consultation
“No in vivo animal carcinogenicity studies were requested by the Division after consulting with CDER’s Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee (April 18, 2017) and the sponsor’s carcinogenicity assessment is considered adequate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no heart rate, blood pressure or ECG effects in rats and monkeys up to 100 mg/kg/week
“Administration of evinacumab at up to 100 mg/kg/week (SC or IV) for 5 and 26 consecutive weeks (in rats and monkeys, respectively), did not result in any test article-related cardiovascular (heart rate, blood pressure, and electrocardiography), respiratory (breaths/minute and pulse oximetry), or CNS (neurobehavioral observation battery) effects.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗