Not conducted (ICH S6); not expected to interact with DNA
“Alirocumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies were not conducted, in accordance with ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Waived on weight of evidence (ICH S6); no preneoplastic or neoplastic lesions in 6-month studies
“Weight of evidence supported the waiver of carcinogenicity studies with alirocumab; no formal carcinogenicity assessment was conducted, per ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: no developmental effects, maternal deaths at high dose; monkey ePPND: no teratogenicity; no fertility effects in 6-month monkey study
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were conducted in rats and monkeys; no teratogenic effects were observed at exposure margins of 12-fold and 81-fold, respectively. Alirocumab did not produce any effect on fertility parameters evaluated as part of the 6-month toxicity study in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Integrated into rat and monkey toxicity studies; no cardiovascular or respiratory effects
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were integrated in toxicology studies in both rats and Cynomolgus monkeys. There were no adverse effects of alirocumab on cardiovascular function in monkeys”
“Alirocumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies were not conducted, in accordance with ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Alirocumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies were not conducted, in accordance with ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Alirocumab is not expected to interact directly with DNA and mutagenicity studies were not conducted, in accordance with ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment, no preneoplastic or neoplastic lesions in rats or monkeys up to 6 months
“No preneoplastic or neoplastic lesions were observed that could be associated with alirocumab administration in rats or monkeys at up to 6 months duration. Based on a weight of evidence approach as outlined in the ICH-S6 guidance and discussed in detail in Section 8 of this review, alirocumab was not tested in an animal model for carcinogenesis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: waiver granted on weight of evidence (ICH S6)
“Weight of evidence supported the waiver of carcinogenicity studies with alirocumab; no formal carcinogenicity assessment was conducted, per ICH-S6.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no adverse cardiovascular effects in monkey toxicity studies
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were integrated in toxicology studies in both rats and Cynomolgus monkeys. There were no adverse effects of alirocumab on cardiovascular function in monkeys, and there was no physical or anatomic evidence of cardiovascular or respiratory effects in monkey or rats.”