“There were no nonclinical genotoxicity or carcinogenicity studies performed with pertuzumab, as per the guidance provided in the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) guidance S6”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6; advanced cancer, ICH S9)
“According to ICH S6 (R1) guideline standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally not appropriate for biotechnology derived pharmaceuticals and according to ICH S9 carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with late stage or advanced cancer.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey EFD: fetal lethality at loading doses ≥30 mg/kg then ≥10 mg/kg bi-weekly (0.2-2x human exposure)
“Pertuzumab caused fetal lethality in pregnant monkeys treated with loading doses of ≥ 30 mg/kg followed by bi-weekly doses ≥ 10 mg/kg (approximately 0.2 to 2-fold greater than the exposure at the recommended human dose, by AUC).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 15Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No dedicated studies; cardiac (ECG) and respiratory endpoints included in pivotal repeat-dose studies
“Studies not conducted. Evaluations of cardiac (electrocardiogram measurements; ECG) and respiratory safety pharmacology parameters were included in the pivotal, repeat-dose toxicology studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“There were no nonclinical genotoxicity or carcinogenicity studies performed with pertuzumab, as per the guidance provided in the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) guidance S6”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“There were no nonclinical genotoxicity or carcinogenicity studies performed with pertuzumab, as per the guidance provided in the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) guidance S6”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“There were no nonclinical genotoxicity or carcinogenicity studies performed with pertuzumab, as per the guidance provided in the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) guidance S6”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted: bioassays not appropriate for biologics; not warranted for advanced cancer
“According to ICH S6 (R1) guideline standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally not appropriate for biotechnology derived pharmaceuticals and according to ICH S9 carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with late stage or advanced cancer.”
“According to ICH S6 (R1) guideline standard carcinogenicity bioassays are generally not appropriate for biotechnology derived pharmaceuticals and according to ICH S9 carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with late stage or advanced cancer.”
No hERG assay; no ECG, heart rate, blood pressure or troponin effects in 6-month monkey study up to 150 mg/kg
“no remarkable treatment-related effects on electrocardiogram waveform patterns, heart rate, blood pressure or troponin levels in monkeys during the 6-month, repeat-dose toxicity study with pertuzumab, given weekly at doses of 15, 50, or 150 mg/kg/dose (study #00-458-1821).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗