Not conducted (recombinant protein not expected to interact with DNA)
“Genotoxicity testing was not performed. The product is a recombinant IgG2 protein of naturally occurring amino acids and is not expected to react with DNA or other chromosomal material.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 603Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Rat carcinogenicity study: 2/54 osteosarcomas in high-dose males (19x), not significant; judged unlikely to raise human osteosarcoma risk
“A low incidence of osteosarcoma (2/54) was observed in high dose males at 19x human exposure. However, the lack of statistical significance of this finding and the large exposure multiple suggests that romosozumab is unlikely to increase the human risk of osteosarcoma.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 38Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Rat FEED, EFD and PPND: reduced 6th cervical vertebra ventral processes at 100-300 mg/kg (17-56x)
“Findings in the definitive FEED and EFD studies included reduced ventral processes of the 6th cervical vertebrae at doses of 100 and 300 mg/kg (17-56x human exposure).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 38Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Single-dose rat neurobehavioral and monkey cardiovascular/respiratory studies
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were evaluated in a single dose neurobehavioral study in rat and in a single dose combined cardiovascular/respiratory study in cynomolgus monkey.”
Sprague-Dawley rat, SC 3, 10 or 50 mg/kg weekly from 8 to 98 weeks of age (up to 19x human AUC)
“In a rat carcinogenicity study, once-weekly romosozumab-aqqg doses of 3, 10 or 50 mg/kg were administered by subcutaneous injection to Sprague-Dawley rats from 8 weeks up to 98 weeks of age, resulting in systemic exposures that were up to 19 times the systemic exposure observed in humans following a monthly subcutaneous dose of 210 mg EVENITY (based on AUC comparison).”
98-week Sprague Dawley rat carcinogenicity study completed before the marketing application
“A carcinogenicity study was conducted in Sprague Dawley rats. The rats were dosed for up to 98 weeks with 0, 3, 10, 50 mg/kg/week, equivalent to 1-19x human exposure.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 38Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no effect on BP, heart rate, ECG or QT/QTc in monkeys at >200-fold clinical exposure
“The results of these studies indicate that romosozumab had no effect on cardiovascular (blood pressure, heart rate, ECGs, QT/QTc) functions after subcutaneous dosing with exposure margins exceeding 200-fold to the clinical exposure.”