“Genetic toxicology studies were not needed to support the development and approval of risankizumab, per the ICH S6(R1) guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; malignancy risk from long-term IL-23 inhibition considered low
“Overall the risk for malignancy associated with long-term inhibition of IL-23 following administration of risankizumab to humans is considered to be low.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 55Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND: dose-dependent fetal/infant loss (19%, 32%, 43% in control, 5 and 50 mg/kg groups)
“However, as compared to the control group, a dose-dependent increase in fetal/infant loss was noted in the risankizumab-treated groups. The percent fetal/infant loss was 19%, 32%, and 43% in the vehicle control, 5 mg/kg, and 50 mg/kg groups, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 49Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Assessed in 4-week IV monkey study; no neurological or cardiovascular effects up to 50 mg/kg/week
“Intravenous treatment with doses up to 50 mg/kg/week risankizumab for 4 weeks did not cause treatment-related effects on neurological or cardiovascular functions in Cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 51Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Therefore, genotoxicity testing was not carried out in line with ICH S6(R1) and this is acceptable.”
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence assessment because rodents are not pharmacologically relevant
“Conventional rodent carcinogenicity studies were not conducted for the evaluation of the carcinogenic potential of risankizumab, as rodents are not a pharmacologically relevant species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; CDER ECAC concurred a 2-year rodent study is not needed
“Concurrence has been received from the Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee of CDER that a 2-year rodent carcinogenicity study is not needed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no neurological or cardiovascular effects in 4-week IV monkey study up to 50 mg/kg/week
“Intravenous treatment with doses up to 50 mg/kg/week risankizumab for 4 weeks did not cause treatment-related effects on neurological or cardiovascular functions in Cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 48Source ↗