“Genetic toxicology studies were not conduct for ocrelizumab, consistent with ICH S6 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; carcinogenicity assessment waiver granted
“The sponsor submitted a carcinogenicity assessment waiver request under IND 100593 (Serial No. 0675, February 4, 2016). The waiver was granted”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey study: effect on gestation length; neonatal stillbirths, deaths, B-cell depletion, kidney and bone marrow changes
“The results of this study demonstrate an effect on gestation length in dams and adverse effects of ocrelizumab on the neonate, including an increase in stillbirths and neonatal death, B-cell depletion, and microscopic changes in kidney and bone marrow.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Endpoints included in repeat-dose monkey studies
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were included in repeat dose studies in monkey.”
“Genetic toxicology studies were not conduct for ocrelizumab, consistent with ICH S6 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Genetic toxicology studies were not conduct for ocrelizumab, consistent with ICH S6 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Genetic toxicology studies were not conduct for ocrelizumab, consistent with ICH S6 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; carcinogenicity assessment deemed not feasible
“Assessment of carcinogenic potential was deemed not feasible and the sponsor’s waiver request was granted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (waiver granted)
“Assessment of carcinogenic potential was deemed not feasible and the sponsor’s waiver request was granted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
hERG / QT
No respiratory, cardiovascular or CNS findings in monkey studies up to 100 mg/kg
“No treatment related observations in either respiratory, cardiovascular or CNS observations were noted following doses of up to 100 mg/kg ocrelizumab.”