Study lengthAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Only a 28-day rat repeat-dose study; chronic toxicity and peripheral neuropathy to be investigated after approval
Why: Chronic toxicity concern addressed as a postmarketing requirement; further peripheral nerve investigations post-authorisation
“However, to date, only a study of 28 days duration has been conducted. Given that this is the first molecule of its class, the CHMP was of the view that the incidence and extent of this peripheral neuropathy following repeated administration, the underlying pathophysiology, and the potential for reversibility would benefit from further investigation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗ “Thus, this concern can be addressed as a post-marketing requirement, and there are no outstanding issues from a pharmacology/toxicology perspective that would prevent the approval of dinutuximab for the treatment of the proposed patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗ Safety marginVerdict not stated
No NOAEL identified in the 28-day rat study
“The CHMP notes that a NOAEL has not been identified for the 28-day study in the rat.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗ DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No reproductive and developmental toxicity studies
Why: Paediatric patient population (high-risk neuroblastoma) · Other reason
“Based on the age of the proposed patient population, FDA agreed that traditional reproductive toxicology studies were not warranted to support the use of this product in the treatment of patients with maintenance phase of high risk neuroblastoma.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 48Source ↗ OtherVerdict not stated
No formal pharmacokinetic, distribution or single-dose toxicity studies; published data on ch14.18 and murine predecessors used instead
“Formal pharmacokinetic studies with ch14.18 have not been conducted, and instead data has been obtained and summarized from the public literature.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗