SpeciesAccepted
Chronic toxicity in cynomolgus monkey only; no chronic rat study because rat anti-drug antibodies precluded meaningful long-term studies
Why: Anti-drug antibodies in rats precluded meaningful long-term studies; acceptable per ICH S6(R1) · Within the guideline · Pharmacology or kinetics
“(A chronic toxicity study in a second species (rat) and rodent carcinogenicity studies were not required, primarily because of data demonstrating development of anti-drug antibodies in rat that precluded conduct of meaningful long-term studies.)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗ “Short-term studies (up to 28 days) were conducted in both species while the chronic toxicity was evaluated in cynomolgus only. This is acceptable in accordance with ICH S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗ CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies; product-specific carcinogenicity risk assessment instead
Why: CGRP effects would support tumour growth, so CGRP blockade gives low carcinogenic risk · Weight of evidence · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The Division accepted the justification from the sponsor not to conduct carcinogenicity studies (DARRTs IND 114,647; January 27, 2016).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗ “Both factors would support tumour growth. Since blockade of CGRP would prevent these effects, the carcinogenic risk associated with eptinezumab is considered low.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗ Juvenile toxAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Planned juvenile animal toxicity study not submitted before approval; required postmarketing
Why: Supports later pediatric clinical studies under PREA · Other reason
“To support clinical studies under PREA, the sponsor planned to conduct a juvenile animal toxicology study (Agreed iPSP Agreement letter, December 21, 2018); however, the study report has not been submitted. The study should be completed as a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗ Safety pharmacologyVerdict not stated
Safety pharmacology within toxicity studies lacked a functional observational battery; only respiratory rate evaluated
“vascular (Studies ALD403-003-TOX, ALD403-015-TOX, and ALD403-055-TOX), and respiratory (ALD403-015-TOX) endpoints were evaluated in single and repeat dose toxicology studies, although an FOB, or equivalent was not conducted and only respiratory rate evaluated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗ Safety marginVerdict not stated
Embryo-fetal studies collected only 5-minute post-dose concentrations; labeled margins based on mg/kg dose, not exposure
“Plasma exposure data at 150 mg/kg (collected in the pivotal EFD studies) were limited to mean concentrations at 5 min postdose: 4473 and 4116 µg/mL in rat and rabbit, respectively. Therefore, safety margins for labeling must rely on interspecies comparisons based on dose (mg/kg).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗