Safety marginVerdict not stated
No exposure margin at the 9-month monkey NOAEL: 0.2 (males) and 0.1 (females) times human AUC at 800 mg
“The NOAEL in the monkeys in the 9-month study was 50 mg/kg/d. At the NOAEL, the associated Week 39 AUC0-last values were 16,700 h⋅ng/mL in males and 12,700 h⋅ng/mL in females or 0.2 and 0.1 times, respectively, the AUC0-24 in humans at 800 mg clinical dose.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗ CarcinogenicityVerdict not stated
2-year rat study: male dose limited by tolerability, exposure about 0.7 times MRHD AUC
Why: Male dose limited by tolerability
“In the 2-year rat carcinogenicity study, there was no evidence of an increased incidence of neoplasia in male rats orally administered 15 mg/kg/day (dose limited by tolerability) and in female rats orally administered up to 240 mg/kg/day, which provides an exposure approximately 0.7 times and 26 times the AUC at the MRHD, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 54Source ↗ OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
No nonclinical pharmacodynamic drug interaction studies
Why: PD interactions of endothelin antagonists and angiotensin receptor blockers already well characterised · Class precedent
“No non-clinical PD drug interaction studies were performed and a justification that PD interactions of endothelin antagonists and angiotensin receptor blockers with other drugs have been well characterised in the past was provided. The approach is acceptable to the CHMP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗ Impurity or metaboliteVerdict not stated
Bacterial mutagenicity test not performed for one alerting synthetic intermediate; controlled as a Class 2 impurity
Why: Impurity treated as Class 2 (mutagenic) impurity instead of testing
“One was evaluated in a bacterial mutagenicity assay and was negative; reverse bacterial mutagenicity testing was not performed for the second and will be treated as a Class 2 impurity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗