Safety marginVerdict not stated
No exposure margin at NOAELs for severe haematopoietic inhibition in monkeys (MOE 0.07-0.10) and dogs (MOE 0.41-0.54)
“NOAELs for severe haematopoietic inhibition are 3 mg/kg/day for rats (MOE: 1.42-1.51) and monkeys (MOE: 0.07- 0.10) and 5 mg/kg/day for dogs (MOE: 0.41-0.54).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗ GenotoxicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
Positive in vitro Ames test; negative in vivo transgenic rodent mutation assay
Why: Negative in vivo transgenic rodent mutation assay overrules the in vitro Ames finding · Weight of evidence
“The assay was negative, indicating no mutagenic potential of quizartinib in this model, which overrules the positive in vitro findings in the Ames test.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗ “Overall, it can be concluded that quizartinib has low genotoxic potential.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗ DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No pre- and postnatal development study
Why: Patient population · Other reason
“No pre- and postnatal studies were performed. Considering the patient population, this is agreed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗ Safety pharmacologyVerdict not stated
No stand-alone CNS or respiratory safety pharmacology studies; endpoints from up to 13-week general toxicology studies
Why: No CNS or pulmonary effects in rat, dog or monkey general toxicology studies
“Stand-alone CNS and respiratory system safety pharmacology studies were not conducted. However, there was no indication of CNS or pulmonary effects in the rat, dog, or monkey general toxicology studies of up to 13 week duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 52Source ↗