CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Carcinogenicity studies (6-month Tg-rasH2 mouse, 2-year rat) ongoing at approval; final reports deferred to postmarketing
Why: Unmet medical need for APDS · Rare disease / unmet need
“Carcinogenicity studies with leniolisib have not been conducted. The 6-month transgenic (Tg-RasH2) mouse carcinogenicity study and 2-year carcinogenicity study with rats are ongoing under Special Protocol Assessments with ECAC concurrence.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗ “Based on the unmet medical need for the APDS indication, the carcinogenicity and pre/ postnatal development assessments will be completed as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗ DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No pre- and postnatal development study before approval; rat PPND study required postmarketing
Why: Unmet medical need for APDS · Rare disease / unmet need
“A pre- and postnatal development study with leniolisib has not been conducted. A pre- and postnatal development study with rats will be submitted as a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗ “Based on the unmet medical need for the APDS indication, the carcinogenicity and pre/ postnatal development assessments will be completed as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗ DARTVerdict not stated
Fertility and early embryonic development assessed in a subset of rats after a juvenile toxicology study (combined design)
“The Fertility and Early Embryonic Development (FEED) study was conducted in a subset (20/sex/group) of rats immediately after the conclusion of a juvenile toxicology study in which rats were treated with 0, 10, 30, or 90 mg/kg/day leniolisib once daily by oral gavage from PND 7 – 77.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗ Safety marginVerdict not stated
NOAEL margins 0.8 (rat) and 1.0 (monkey); animal NOAEL exposure similar to human therapeutic exposure
“The safety margins in toxicity studies were 0.8 (15mg/kg/day) and 1.0 (20 mg/kg/day) at the NOAEL in rat and monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗ Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
No validated APDS animal model; pharmacology shown in rat SRBC antibody response and mouse ozone lung inflammation models
“Currently, there is no validated APDS disease model in animals. The Sponsor explored antibody response to sheep red blood cells (SRBC) in rats and ozone-induced neutrophil infiltration in mouse bronchoalveolar lavage (BAL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗